Andreas Brantelid


Andreas Brantelid was born in Copenhagen to Swedish/Danish parents. He started playing the cello from a very early age, studying with his father Ingemar. He made his concerto debut at the age of 14 with the Royal Danish Orchestra playing the Elgar Cello Concerto. 
This season he will make his debut with the London Philharmonic and MDR Leipzig Orchestras as well as returning to the BBC National Orchestra of Wales. He will also make his debut in Japan, performing a solo recital as well as concerto performances with the Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra.
For full biography click here.

Read More >

News & Features


CPE BACH Cello Concerto in A major, Wq.172

BEETHOVEN Triple Concerto for violin, cello and piano

BOCCHERINI Cello Concerto No. 9 in B flat major, G. 482
BRAHMS Double Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op. 102

DUTILLEUX Tout un monde lointain
DVORAK Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104
ELGAR Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85  
HAYDN Cello Concerto in C major,
HAYDN Cello Concerto in D major,
Hob VIIb: 2 
KORNGOLD Cello Concerto
PROKOFIEV Sinfonia Concertante for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 125  
SAINT-SAENS Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33 
SCHUMANN Cello Concerto in A minor, Op. 129
SHOSTAKOVICH Cello Concerto No 1 in E flat major, Op. 107
TCHAIKOVSKY Pezzo Capriccioso
TCHAIKOVSKY Variations on a Rococo Theme in A Major, Op. 33

Read More >



Sonata in A minor, 2 February 2014

Washington DC

Grieg’s Sonata in A minor is a work of soaring, chest-bursting emotions, and Brantelid and Chien turned in a robust and exuberant reading, full of the sense of limitless space that Grieg seems to evoke. It won him a standing ovation, a fine end to the Washington debut of a gifted cellist. Washington Post

Concert: 18 May 2012

Alice Tully Hall

"Andreas Brantelid, cellist — also played with polish and commitment in the unusually constructed work [Chausson Concerto]...The genial nature of this melodious, sensually scored trio [Saint-Saëns]was elegantly revealed in a passionate interpretation by the pianist Juho Pohjonen, Jessica Lee and Mr. Brantelid."

New York Times, 20 May 2012

Recital: 29 January 2012

Frederiksberg, Denmark

"The Danish cellist Andreas Brantelid gave a poetic and musically gifted recital...Hindemith's cello pieces were performed with youthful playfulness and intelligent administration." Information, Ghent, 3 February 2012


Concert: January 2012

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra/Matthias Pintscher

"Schumann’s Cello Concerto won its colours through theatricality delivery and the effervescent coupling of Andreas Brantelid’s light-fingered solo performance and Pintscher’s nimble control of the orchestral accompaniment. Brantelid’s playing was in a class of its own."

The Scotsman, 22 January 2012


Concert: August 2010

Auckland Philharmonia/Marko Letonja

"Taking the solo spot of the evening, 23-year-old Andreas Brantelid illuminated Elgar's Cello Concerto with all the impetuousness and energy of youth....The Adagio was as poignant as any, subtle in its dynamic swells and phrasing, while Brantelid positively teased his way into the final Allegro molto, with its often edgy and unpredictable mood-swings." New Zealand Herald, 21 August 2010


EMI Disc: 2010

Marianna Shirinya (piano), Vilde Frang (violin)

"The Danish cellist Andreas Brantelid is only 23, but, with his Armenian pianist, he reveals astonishing maturity, bringing youthful freshness and vigour. With their Norwegian violinist, they are delightfully exuberant in the trio." The Sunday Times, 7 March 2010
"Brantelid comes more to the fore in the Sonata and in the Grand Duo, and, in harmony with Shirinyan, does so with terrific panache and innate sensibility and with a tone that is both burnished and malleable...his interpretations reveal a stylistic insight, elegance and emotional power to match his striking technical aplomb." The Telegraph, 26 January 2010
"Brantelid's ability to reach the emotional core of a work is as evident here as on his previous disc, particularly in the Sonata. There is more supple delivery of technical challenges too, whether silky-smooth double stopping, or fast runs executed with both precision and panache...The overall sound is warm, technically perfect, and imbued with a youthful enthusiasm that is underpinned by interpretational maturity." BBC Music, 15 January 2010


Concert: February 2010

CBSO Youth Orchestra/Michael Seal

"This was a cohesive interpretation in which the lighter elements, deftly handled, were never over-shadowed by the adagio which was pensive and melancholy… The tussle between resignation and defiance was made all the more vital, with Brantelid’s vividly projected playing always matched by the orchestra."

Birmingham Post, 25 February 2010


Concert: January 2010

Rheinische Philharmonie

"Brantelid played the first theme beautifully. His technique and intonation were exposed in the demanding high register and particularly impressive was that this 22 year old crafted the slow movement elegantly, beautifully and full of feeling." Rhein Zeitung, 26 January 20010



Andreas Chopin

Cello Sonata in G minor Op 65
Piano Trio in G minor Op 8
Grand Duo concertante in E
Marianna Shirinyan piano
Vilde Frang violin
EMI Classics

A Tribute to Encores

Various Artists
1 Guitarre Op. 45, no. 2 
2 Après un Rêve 
3 Rigaudon Op. 78 no. 4 
4 At the Fountain Op. 20 no. 2 
5 Spanish Serenade Op. 54 no. 2 
6 Intermezzo (from the Opera Goyescas)
7 Andaluza Op. 37 no. 5 
8 Orientale Op. 37 no. 2 
9 Sicilienne 
10 Tambourin Chinois Op. 3 
11 La fille aux cheveux de lin 
12 Zigeunerweisen Op. 20 
13 Carmen Fantasy Op. 25 
14 Vaggsång (from "4 Akvareller") 
EMI Classics

Concerto Disc

Saint-Saens: Cello Concerto No 1
Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo theme
Schumann: Cello Concerto    
Danish National Symphony Orchestra
Michael Schønwandt
EMI Classics