Alexandre Bloch


Admired for his enthusiasm and energy, Alexandre Bloch is Principal Guest Conductor of Düsseldorfer Symphoniker and has recently been announced as Music Director of Orchestre National de Lille from the beginning of the 2016/17 season. The French conductor came to international attention as winner of Donatella Flick’s LSO Conducting Competition in October 2012, after which he was appointed Assistant Conductor at the London Symphony Orchestra.

The 15/16 season includes debuts with Oslo Philharmonic, Vancouver Symphony, Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and Nash Ensemble at the Wigmore Hall. He returns to Concertgebouw Orkest, Scottish Chamber, Royal Northern Sinfonia, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, BBCNOW, Poznan Philharmonic, NWD Philharmonie and Australian Youth Orchestra. Future plans include his debut with Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, and returns to the Scottish Chamber Orchestra and Orchestre National de Lille. 

Read More >

Media Player


    The Rite of Spring, Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra


Palais des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles, BRUSSELS

Belgian National anthem (30”)
Frank Nuyts: Different from habit
Mahler short cycle
Der Tambourg'sell : Hohe Fassung (mi mineur - fin en d mineur)
Revelge : Hohe Fassung (re mineur)
Um Mitternacht : Hohe Fassung (si mineur)
Lob des hohen Verstandes : Hohe Fassung (re majeur)
Ravel Daphnis Suite n°2 : 18’

Orchestre National de Belgique
Thomas Blondelle, tenor

Burgplatz Dusseldorf, DUSSELDORF

Georges Bizet, Carmen
- Prélude 2‘
- “Seguidilla”– Ramona Zaharia (short version without tenor) 5’
- “La fleur” – Corby Welch 4’

Paul Dukas, L’apprenti sorcier 12’

Gaetano Donizetti, L’elisir d‘amore
- “Ardir! Ha forse il cielo mandato... Voglio dire, lo stupendo elisir“ 6’
(Ovidiu Purcel/Günes Gürle)
- “Caro Elisir…Lallarallara...Esulti pur la barbara“ (Ovidio Purcel/Luiza Fatyol) 9’
- „Una furtiva lagrima“– Ovidiu Purcel 5’

Giacomo Puccini, Gianni Schicchi 3’
“O mio babbino caro” – Anke Krabbe

Giuseppe Verdi, Un ballo in maschera
-„Eri tu“ – Bogdan Baciu 6‘

George Gershwin, Catfish Row (excerpts) 18’

Leonard Bernstein, West Side Story
- “Maria” – Corby Welch 3’
- “Tonight” – Corby Welch / Luiza Fatyol 4’
- Mambo 3’

Dusseldorfer Symphoniker

Nouveau Siecle, LILLE

BERLIOZ Benvenuto Cellini, ouverture (dirigee par Jean-Claude Casadesus)
Alexandre Bloch:

KHACHATURIAN Concerto pour violon
STRAVINSKY L'Oiseau de feu

Nemanja Radulovic: violin
Orchestre National de Lille

Nouveau Siecle, LILLE

BERLIOZ Benvenuto Cellini, ouverture (dirigee par Jean-Claude Casadesus)
Alexandre Bloch:

KHACHATURIAN Concerto pour violon
STRAVINSKY L'Oiseau de feu

Nemanja Radulovic: violin
Orchestre National de Lille

Load More

Düsseldorf Symphoniker, Principal Guest Conductor

In February 2015 Alexandre was announced as Principal Guest Conductor of Düsseldorf Symphoniker from 15/16 season for an initial term of three years. He will work alongside celebrated Hungarian conductor Adam Fischer who was appointed Chief Conductor. 

Read More >


*Debut* Adelaide Symphony Orchestra

Adelaide Festival Theatre

'In tonight’s programme he excelled in eliciting the gentle and mellifluous melody lines that were a feature of all three works.'

'The Enchanted Lake, Anatoly Liadov’s gorgeous ‘tone painting’, was beautifully conducted and Bloch and the ASO gently lifted the weight of worldly cares from the audience’s shoulders.'

Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique - 'The symphony is celebrated for its agonizing poignancy and harsh climaxes and Bloch ensured that all sections of the orchestra gave their all without resorting to self-indulgence. The whole thing was beautifully controlled.'
Kym Clayton, 04 June, The Barefoot Review


Dumbarton Oaks

Queen's Hall, Edinburgh

'Stravinsky’s wit, rhythmic crispness and neo-classical elegance were almost a given, all present and correct – there was a joyful bounce to Bloch’s direction that drew some immaculately crisp playing from the SCO musicians, particularly the winds on especially splendid form. 

But there was also a richness and a gentle smoothing of Stravinsky’s hard edges that made Bloch’s account feel especially generous, as if together he and the musicians were delving deep to discover the music behind the notes. He came up with a persuasive solution for playing Stravinsky’s reimagining of Bach in the long-limbed slow movement, too, with forthright, heavily phrased, non-vibrato strings adding a distinctive period touch. Very clever.'
David Kettle, The Arts Desk 17 April 2016

Vancouver Symphony Orchestra Debut

Chan Centre for the Performing Arts

'After a slow start to the season, the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra reached its stride. Thanks to the thrilling music-making of Alexandre Bloch, the French wunderkind of the conducting world, the diverse programme of Messiaen, Haydn, and Schubert showed off the orchestra at its very best' 

'Bloch retained admirable control over the orchestra through the three contrasting parts of the work, beautifully contrasting the profound meditation of the outer sections with the nightmarish, almost hysterical middle portion.'

'(...) it was Alexandre Bloch’s masterful storytelling that will make this concert an experience to remember.'
Par Kevin W Ng, Bachtrack 09 October 2015

Beethoven 2nd Symphony

Royal Northern Sinfonia

Sage Gateshead

"How refreshing to see Bloch having such fun; every conductorial twist, lurch and twink reflected in orchestral playing which oozed style and character.", Graham Rickson, 21 February 14

Donatella Flick

Conducting Final


Bloch had the essence of this music at his fingertips, as he most assuredly also had of the ‘Play of the Waves’ middle movement from Debussy’s La mer, in which, as a Frenchman, he was on home ground, so to speak, but his direction and – indeed – interpretation of his compatriot’s masterpiece was head and shoulders above those of his competitors. Robert Matthew-Walker