Ainars Rubikis


Ainars Rubikis came to international attention as winner of the Third International Gustav Mahler conducting competition in 2010. In August 2011, he was announced recipient of the Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award and subsequently conducted the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester at the Salzburg Festival. In 2012 he was appointed Musical Director of Novosibirsk State Opera House, one of the largest houses in Europe.

Plans for the 2013/14 season includes his debut at New National Theatre Tokyo (Carmen), and returns to Poznan Philharmonic and Hamburg Symphony. In October 2013 he will conduct the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra for a celebration concert at the Alte Oper, Frankfurt. He will also conduct the world premiere of Chess a new opera for Latvian National Opera and various titles in Novosibirsk - including Bernstein's Mass, Bizet's Carmen and Britten's War Requiem. 

Highlights of recent seasons included debuts with Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, Heidelberg, Bournemouth, Toronto, Danish Chamber, Melbourne and Lucerne Symphony Orchestras, Gulbenkian Orchestra, Northern Sinfonia, Orchestre du Pays de la Loire, at the Edinburgh International Festival with the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra, débuts with Hong Kong Philharmonic and Brussels Philharmonic, Estonian National, Bamberg Symphony, Budapest Philharmonic and performances of Don Giovanni at Latvian National Opera. He recently conducted La finta Giardinera in Bamberg.

For an updated biography, please contact Laura Baker

Read More >


Media Player


    2011 Winner: Ainars Rubikis


In 2012, Ainars became Music Director of Novosibirsk Opera House, one of the largest in the world. In 2013, the House will be honouring the Benjamin Britten centenary with performances of War Requiem and a new production of Peter Grimes.

Read More >




New National Theatre, Tokyo

Ainars Rubikis conducts the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra in a performance full of highly variegated tempo and emphasis, creating a brilliant soundscape for this emotive work. Olé! A Carmen Supreme - Ayako Takahashi